Krup Takes Modified Opener In Terre Haute

(Terre Haute, IN) This past Sunday, April 29, a strong field of Scott’s Custom Colors Modifieds converged at the Terre Haute Action Track as part of the USAC Silver Crown Sumar Classic 100.  In fact, 22 were pitside for the first of nine Modified events at the track, but there was one that definitely stood out as the one to beat.  From qualifying to the heats and on to the feature event, Mt. Carmel, IL driver, Will Krup was the man.

Krup set the overall fast time in the group qualifying sessions with a 23.190.  Group wise, Krup was in group one, while Tyler Nicely set fast time in group two and Brian Shaw was fastest in group three.

The K9 of Krup won the first heat by 7.170 seconds over Richie Lex and A.J. Fike.  Nicely won heat race #2 over Dave Baldwin and Brent Hudson.  Shaw won heat #3 over Jay Humphrey, Jr. and Tyler Loughmiller.

Feature time for the Scott’s Custom Colors DIRTcar Modifieds had Will Krup starting up front and controlling the tempo early.  Meanwhile, Ken Schrader, A.J. Fike, and others were battling hard for top five spots.  When the checkered fell, Krup claimed the win by 1.662 seconds over Fike, Schrader, Baldwin, and Shaw.

The next race for the Modifieds at Terre Haute will be on Wednesday, May 23 as part of the Tony Hulman Classic.

About Terre Haute Action Track:

                For more information, follow the Action Track online at and on Facebook (  Updates are also available by calling the Track Enterprises office at 217-764-3200.

The Terre Haute Action Track is located at the Wabash County Fairgrounds, in Terre Haute, IN.  The physical address is 3901 South US Hwy 41, Terre Haute, IN 47807.

Scott’s Custom Colors Modified Feature Results

  1. K9 Will Krup
  2. 10 A.J. Fike
  3. 9 Ken Schrader
  4. 6B Dave Baldwin
  5. 1S Brian Shaw
  6. 92 Kenny Carmichael, Sr.
  7. 99T Tyler Loughmiller
  8. 28 Jeff Deckard
  9. 2B Brent Hudson
  10. 2 Broc Burton
  11. 14A Dustin Golden
  12. X Jesse Snyder
  13. 2 Jake Lietzmann
  14. 661 Jay Humphrey, Jr.
  15. 55W Lucas Wehmiller
  16. 89W Rick Weitekamp
  17. 93W Brayden Watson
  18. 4X Michael Fish
  19. 12K Karen Krockenberger
  20. 25 Tyler Nicely
  21. 7LEX Richie Lex
  22. 75 Dustin Beck