Latest News From Terre Haute

Jim Hurtubise Classic Postponed At The Terre Haute Action Track
Season Ending Event Now Scheduled For October 15

Race teams, officials, and fans are far too familiar with rain, when it comes to the Terre Haute IN Action Track.  Once again, Mother Nature’s wrath was on display for the scheduled season finale, featuring the Jim Hurtubise Classic for the USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Cars and the Scott’s Custom Colors UMP Modifieds.  The event, scheduled for Friday, September 16, has been postponed due to heavy afternoon rains which put a damper on racing at the ½-mile dirt oval.

A first batch of rain came through the Vigo County area around 12:30 but it was the rainfall arriving about an hour later that forced the postponement.  It’s the fourth time this season that rain has affected an event at the Action Track.  Twice this season, the MSCS Sprint cars event was hit by heavy rains and the USAC Sprint week show was postponed during the month of July.

USAC and Track Enterprises officials have come together on a plan to reschedule the season finale for Saturday, October 15 at the Action Track.  Both classes, the USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Cars and the Scott’s Custom Colors UMP Modifieds will be on the card.

Pit gates will open at 3:00, grandstands at 4:00, hotlaps will be on track at 6:00, qualifying at 6:30, and racing will take the green at 7:00.


Sprint Cars, Modifieds, and Fireworks Highlight Season Finale

The “Jim Hurtubise Classic” is on tap in Terre Haute, Indiana this week for the USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship. Friday, September 16th’s “Jim Hurtubise Classic” unfolds at the Terre Haute Action Track at the Wabash Valley Fairgrounds and is scheduled to be the final racing event of the season at the 1/2-mile dirt oval.

Brady Bacon, fresh from his victory in last Saturday’s USAC/CRA “California Sprint Week” finale at Hanford, Calif., leads the series into this weekend’s National Sprint events. He has a 173-point lead over Robert Ballou, who is sidelined following a neck injury over a week ago at Calistoga, Calif. Chase Stockon, of Fort Branch, Indiana, sits third in the standings, 60 behind Ballou and 233 behind Bacon.

Friday’s Terre Haute spectacular honors the driver who scored five consecutive USAC Sprint race wins at the legendary half-mile between 1960 and 1962. Ballou won the “Tony Hulman Classic” there in May, while the “Don Smith Classic” Indiana Sprint Week finale in July went to Stockon.

Stockon, who won in 2012, joins other previous “Hurtubise Classic” winners Jon Stanbrough (2010), Chris Windom (2011), Jerry Coons, Jr. (2013) and Bacon (2014) in Friday night’s field.

Also in action on Friday night will be the Scott’s Custom Colors UMP Modifieds.  In Modified action this season, Kenny Wallace, Brian Shaw, and Nick Hoffman have been victorious at the Action Track as stellar fields have put on great shows.  Another good field of cars is expected Friday night as competitors battle for late season UMP national points.

Friday night’s “Jim Hurtubise Classic” gets underway with pit gates opening Wednesday at 3pm and grandstands at 4pm.  Cars hit the track with hot laps set for 6:30pm, ProSource Qualifying slated for 7pm and racing scheduled to begin at 7:30.  A rare Action Track fireworks display will follow the event.


UMP Modifieds Take On New Name At Terre Haute Action Track
Scott’s Custom Colors UMP Modifieds To Race Sunday

Whether it is USAC Silver Crown, USAC Sprints, MSCS Sprints, or the Indiana Late Model Series, the UMP Modifieds are with them, putting on a great show at the Terre Haute Action Track.   Now the division has a new name, as Scott’s Custom Colors, of Terre Haute, IN has stepped up as title sponsor.

Scott’s Custom Colors was started in 1994 by owner, Scott McDaniel, on the site of the old Fast Track Race Track in Terre Haute.  After continued growth and building additions, Scott’s Custom Colors has taken the lead in customer service, technology, and training.  All of this ensures that each vehicle is repaired correctly and with safety as a priority.

The company has supported auto racing for a long time, with the logo noticeable on a number of cars, including that of Scott’s son Josh, who works for the company and races in the division.  Now, the company has moved forward with naming rights to the division, the Scott’s Custom Colors UMP Modifieds.

“We are thrilled to expand our support of the UMP Modified class to involve the Terre Haute Action Track itself.  We look forward to the future of the class and the track in the Wabash Valley”, owner Scott McDaniel said.

The Scott’s Custom Colors UMP Modifieds are scheduled to be in action this coming Sunday, May 1 as part of the Spring Fling.  Also on the card are the MSCS Sprint cars.  At intermission, the kids from the Terre Haute Quarter Midget Association will be taking a lap around the track in their rides.

Pit gates open at 3:00 on Sunday, grandstands at 4:00, hotlaps begin at 5:00, and racing will begin at 6:30.  Grandstand admission is $20, infield admission is $15, and children 10 and under are free.

About Scott’s Custom Colors:
Scott’s Custom Colors is located at 3140 N 25th Street in Terre Haute, IN.  They can be contacted by calling 812-466-1416 or by checking out their website at  Don’t forget to like their Facebook page at

About Terre Haute Action Track:
For more information, follow the Action Track online at and on Facebook (  Updates are also available by calling the Track Enterprises office at 217-764-3200.

The Terre Haute Action Track is located at the Wabash County Fairgrounds, in Terre Haute, IN.  The physical address is 3901